above eight Devis were born in burial grounds and are Raudramūrtis. They are known as the Astāmbās.

DEVIBHĀGAVATA. The Saivas venerate this book as one of the eighteen Purāṇas. But according to the Vai-ṣṇavites, this is an authoritative book of a loftier level than the eighteen Purānas. (See under Purāna).

DEVIKĀ I. (VEDIKĀ). Daughter of Govāsa, the Śaibya King. She was wedded by Yudhisthira in Svayamvara, and to them were born a son called Yaudheya. (Adi Parva, Chapter 95, Verse 76).

DEVIKĀ II. A holy centre. A dip in the tīrtha there will give the same result as that of a yajña. (M.B. Vana Parva, Chapter 82, Verse 102).

DEVĪPĪŢHA. The dead body of Satīdevī crumbled into small pieces and fell in different places in Bharata. Each place where a piece of the dead body fell, is known by the name Devipitha. There is a reason why the dead body crumbled into pieces.

Daksa performed a sacrifice to which Siva was not invited and Satīdevī came to the sacrifice, and committed suicide by jumping into the fire. Siva who became furious, killed Daksa and carrying the dead body of his wife on his shoulder, walked the length and breadth of Bhārata like a mad man. It seemed that he was not going to recover from this mania, and the devas (gods) were worried at this. To rescue Siva from this mental disposition, Mahāviṣṇu, unseen by others, followed Siva with a bow and arrow. Whenever it was convenient Mahāvisnu sent an arrow at the body of Satīdevī, on the shoulder of Siva. By the hitting of the arrows the body was crumbled into pieces and fell here and there. Thus within a few days the body of Satidevi came to an end and Siva walked to Kailasa. The pieces of the dead body fell in 108 places, and thus 108 Devipithas came into existence. The names of the places and the names by which the Devi is known in

such places are given below. Devibitha Name of Devi 1. Vārānasī Viśālāksī 2. Naimisāranya Lingadhārinī 3. Prayāga Kumudā 4. Gandhamādana Kāmukī 5. Kumudā Dakşiņa Kailāsa (Mānasa) 6. Uttara Kailāsa (Mānasa) Kumudā 7. Gomanta Gautamī 8. Mandara Kāmacāriņī 9. Caitraratha Madotkaţā 10. Hastināpura Jayanti 11. Kānyakubja Gaurī 12. Malayācala Rambhā 13. Ekāmrapītha Kīrtimatī 14. Viśveśvarī Viś va Puskara 15. Puruhūtā 16. Kedārapītha Sanmārgadāyinī 17. Himavatprstha Mandā 18. Bhadrakarnikā Gokarna 19. Sthānvīśvara Bhavānī 20. Villvaka Villvapatrikā 21. Śrī Śaila Mādhavī 22. Bhadreśvara Bhadrā 23. Varāhaśaila Jayā 24. Kamalālaya Kamalā 25. Rudrakoți Rudrāņī 26. Kālañjara Kālī

Śālagrāma Mahādevī 28. Śivalinga **Jalaprivā** 29. Mahalinga Kapila 30. Mākota Mukuteśvarī 31. Māyāpurī Kumārī 32. Santāna Lalitāmbikā 33. Gava Mangalā 34. Purusottama Vimală 35. Utpalāksī Sahasrāksa 36. Hiranyāksa Mahotpalā Amoghākṣī 37. Vipāśa 38. Pundravardhana Pāţalā 39. Supārsva Nārāyanī Rudrasundari 40. Trikūta 41. Vipula Vipulā 42. Malayācala Kalyānī 43. Sahyādri Ekavīrā Hariścandra Candrikā 45. Rāmatīrtha Ramanā 46. Yamunātīrtha Mrgāvatī 47. Vikoţa tīrtha Koți 48. Mādhavavana Sugandhā 49. Godāvarītīrtha Trisandhi 50. Gangādvāra Ratiprivā 51. Sivakunda Subhānandā 52. Devikātaţa Nandinī 53. Dvāravatī Rukminī 54. Vrndāvana Rādhā 55. Madhurā Devakī 56. Pātāla Parameśvarī 57. Citrakūta Sītā Vindhyādhivāsinī 58. Vindhya 59. Karavīra Mahālaksmī 60. Umādevī Vināyaka 61. Vaidyanāthatīrtha Ārogyā 62. Mahākāla Maheśvarī 63. Usnatīrtha Abhayā 64. Vindhyaparvata Nitambā 65. Māndavya Māṇdavī 66. Maheśvaripura Svāhā 67. Chagalanda Pracanda 68. Amarakantaka Candikā 69. Someśvara Varārohā 70. Prabhāsa Puskarāvatī 71. Devamātā Sarasvatī 72. Mahābhāgā Mahālava 73. Pingaleśvari Payosnī 74. Simhikā Krtaśauca 75. Kārttika Atiśānkarī Utpalā 76. Varttaka 77. Śonasangama Subhadrā 78. Siddhavana Mātā (Lakṣmī) 79. Bharatāśrama Anangā 80. Jalandhara Viśvamukhī 81. Kişkindhaparvata Tārā 82. Devadāruvana Pusti 83. Kāśmīramaņḍala Medhā 84. Himādri Bhīmā Śuddhi 85. Kapālamocana 86. Kāyāvarohaņa Mātā 87. Śańkhoddhāra Dharā 88. Piņdāraka Dhrti 89. Kalā Candrabhāga 90. Acchoda Śivadhāriņī

Amrtā

91. Vena