4) Arjuna and the Kālakeyas. The headquarters of the Asuras was Hiranyapura, situated near Devaloka. Once they allied themselves with thousands of other Asuras called "Nivātakavacas" and launched an attack on Devaloka. Indra sent his charioteer Mātali and brought Arjuna to Devaloka. Arjuna defeated the Nivātakavacas and Kālakeyas in battle. A large number of Kālakeyas were killed in the battle. (M.B. Vana Parva Chapters 172-175).

- KALAKIRTI. A Kşatriya King. Mahābhārata, Ādi Parva, Chapter 67 says that this King was born from the limb of Suparņa, the younger brother of the Asura, Mayūra.
- KĀLAKOŢI. A sacred place in Naimiṣāraṇya. (M.B. Vana Parva, Chapter 95, Verse 3).
- KALAKUTA. The virulent poison that came up during the churning of the Ocean of Milk. Siva swallowed and retained it in his throat, and so he came to be called Nīlakantha.
- "And Kālakūţa arose like fire burning all the worlds. The smell of it sent the three worlds into a swoon. At the request of Brahmā Śiva swallowed the poison to save the world from absolute destruction. And, he (Śiva) retained it in his throat". (Ādi Parva, Chapter 18).

KALAMANA. (Calculating time). In ancient days in India time was calculated in the following manner.

Time taken (needed) to

	(neouse)	••	
pierce a leaf with a			
needle			Alpakāla
30	Alpakālas		1 Truți
30	Truțis	~	l Kalā
30	Kalās		l Kāsthā
30	Kāsthās		l Nimișa (mātrā)
4	Nimișas		l Ganita
	Ganitas		l Netuvīrpu (time for a
			deep sigh)
6	Nețuvīrpus		l Vināzhikā
	Vināzhikās		l Ghațikā
60	Ghațikās		l Day (Ahorātra)
	Ahorātras		l Pakșa (Fortnight)
2	Paksas		l Cāndramāsa (A day for
			the Pitrs)
2	Māsas (months)		1 Rtu.
	Rtus		l year for men (A day for
	•		the Devas)
300	Years (Men's)		1 Divyavarşa (Divine year)
4800	Divyavarsas		l Krtayuga
3600	Divyavarsas		1 Tretāyuga
2400	Divyavarşas		l Dvāparayuga
1200	Divyavarsas		l Kaliyuga
12000	Divyavarşas		1 Caturyuga
71	Caturyugas		l Manvantara
14	Manvantaras		l Pralaya (Kalpa)
1	Pralaya		Brahmā's one day.
			(Bhāgavata Trtīya
skandha)			
7½Nāzhikās (Ghațikās) — 1 Yāma			
4	Yāmas	·	l day time
8	Yāmas		l day (day and night).
(Devi Bhagayata 9th Skandha)			

(Devī Bhāgavata, 9th Skandha). The 'Kālamāna' according to the Viṣnu Purāṇa differs in certain respects from the calculations given above. Chapter 3, Part 1 of Viṣnu Purāṇa says :-- Fifteen Nimișas make one Kāsthā. Thirty Kāsthās make one Kalā and thirty Kalās make one Muhūrta. Thirty Muhūrtas make one day (man's) and thirty such days, divided into two fortnights form a Māsa (month). Six months form an Ayana; there are two ayanas called Daksiņa and Uttara. Daksiņāyana is night, and Uttarāyaņa is day for the Devas. 12,000 Divyavarşas—Deva varşas—form a Caturyuga consisting of the Krta—Tretā—Dvāpara and Kali yugas, con-sisting respectively of 4000, 3000, 2000 and 1000 Divyavarsas. Before the commencement and after the end of every one of the above four yugas there is an interval respectively of 400, 300, 200, and 100 years. The interval before the commencement is called Sandhyā and that at the end is called Sandhyāmsa. The period between Sandhyā and Sandhhyāmsa is called Krta yuga etc. One thousand Caturyugas form one day for Brahmā, and it (Brahmā's one day) has 14 Manus. Again, Chapter 8, Part 2 of the Vișnu Purâna has the following to say about Kālamāna.

Fifteen nimisas make one Kāsthā, thirty Kāsthās one Kalā, thirty Kalās one muhūrta and thirty muhūrtas one day and night. Day is long or short according to the length or shortness of parts of the day, like morning, noon and evening. Despite the above variation evening or dusk time is always (2 nāzhikās) the same. The three muhurtas from the sun's ardhodaya (when half of the sun has arisen) is called Prātahkāla, (morning) and it is 1/5th of day time. The three muhūrtas following are known as samgava. Madhyāhna (noon) is the three muhurtas after samgava. The time after madhyāhna is aparāhna (afternoon). Aparāhna lasts for three muhurtas. The time after this is dusk. Thus, a day-time of fifteen muhūrtas is divided into five parts of three muhurtas each. On Visuvat day the day will have full fifteen muhurtas. Then during Uttarayana and Daksināyana the day will be longer or shorter. During Uttarāyana the day will be longer than night, and during Daksināyana vice versa. Visuvat occurs when the sun enters the Tulā (Libra) and Meşa (Aries) houses. Daksināyana is when the sun enters Cancer, and Uttarāyana when it enters Capricorn.

Fifteen days and nights constitute a Pakşa (fortnight). and two Pakşas one month. Two solar months constitute a Rtu (season), three rtus one ayana and two ayanas one year. Since there are four kinds of months, i.e. Saura, Sāvana, Cāndra and Nākşatra, years are considered to be of five different kinds. The first is called Samvatsara; the second parivatsara; the third idvatsara; the fourth, anuvatsara and the fifth, vatsara. Th is period of five years is called a yuga. In a yuga of five years there are 60 saura months. 61 sāvana months, 62 Cāndra months and 67 nākşatra months. At the beginning of the sixth year the sun and moon meet in the same house and that period of five years also is called yuga. (Śrīdharīyam).

KĀLĀMRĂ. See under BHADRAŚĀLA.

- KALAMUKHA (S) A hybrid race born from the union of men and Rākşasas. Sahadeva defeated the Kālamukhas also during his conquest of the southern region. (Sabhā Parva, Chapter 31, Verse 67).
- KALANEMI I. A great Asura. In later years he was born as Kamsa, the son of Ugrasena. (See under Kamsa).
- KĀLANEMI II. A brahmin from Mālava. His father